I am grateful for “Honey”…

More than 50 years ago, a woman gave birth to her first child.  It was about 4 in the afternoon on a spring day.  Her husband was at work, so it was her ob/gyn who helped coax her through labor and to give life to a healthy 7 pound baby girl.

Soon the child started to say her first words, one of which was “Honey.”  MomMeYou see, given that she was the first child, there really wasn’t anyone else calling this woman “Mommy”, the girl only heard her father refer to her mom as “Honey”, so what else would she call her but “Honey.”  My mom is a Honey.  She is loving, kind, caring, very sweet and gentle.

One of my favorite childhood memories of my mom, is her sitting with me and my siblings on the floor in the living room playing board games or “Old Maid.” I loved it when she would take time to be with us and simply just play with us.  She made us feel important.

My mom has and still is always there for me.  She has been there through many monumental moments in my lives along with all the other days in between. No matter what, and unfortunately there have been some “What?”s,  but she has always loved me unconditionally.  Always.

As a teacher, I have experienced first hand the spectrum of mothers.  kidsWinnieSome whom the term is sadly only used because the woman gave birth to the child and has offered not much more, to women who are very devoted to their families and do everything they can for their children.  MDAMeMy mom is on this side of the mother scale.  Her career has been that of a wife and a mother.  She has worked very hard at it and still does.  She had jobs outside of the house, but not starting until I was nearly out of high school.  However, we have always known that we came first in her life.  The same devotion continues and can be seen now with me, my sister, and my brother, her daughter-in-law, and son-in-law, as well as with her grandchildren.  There isn’t anything that she wouldn’t do for any of us.

I want my mom to know (hopefully she already knows) how much I love her and appreciate all that she has done for me, my siblings, our spouses,MeAnnDewayne my dad, and for her grandchildren.  My mom is a “Honey.”  Happy Mother’s Day Mom.

I am grateful for my mom…

Leave a comment